Day 22

Hey Guys!

So my Day 19 posts talked a little bit about my nanny confessions – I admittedly let my kids eat like crap.

But kids are extremely picky and sometimes Mac ‘n Cheese is really the only thing they will eat. I can’t win with them.

So today, when I asked my kids what they wanted for lunch, I again wasn’t the least bit shocked to hear the resounding cry of “Mac ‘n cheese!!!!!” But this is where I thought I would try to play a few of my own cards, and instead of pulling out the Kraft with all of it’s food dyes and artificial ingredients, I made them mac ‘n cheese with all whole ingredients. I cooked noodles, added milk, butter, and shredded cheddar cheese. No it’s not a healthy meal, but I used as many whole ingredients aFullSizeRender (22)s I could.

So after whipping together this childhood-favorite substitute, I put it in front of them on the counter and eagerly waited for them to take their first bite and tell me how good it was.

Well, I was quickly disappointed when my first boy said, “Wait…this tastes funny. This isn’t mac ‘n cheese!”

“Yes it is!” I argued back, “It’s pasta with real cheese, and I made it just like Kraft mac ‘n cheese, but this one is home made!”

“Yeah well I like Kraft better! This cheese tastes funny, I like the Kraft cheese better.” he whined back.

Little did he know that I actually used Kraft brand cheddar cheese.

“I promise you it’s the exact same thing! But it should taste better since it’s homemade with real food and lots of love!” I insisted in a final attempt to keep the sinking raft afloat.

I grew worried as I watched the younger boy, a devout mac ‘n cheese enthusiast, eat his noodles in pure silence. What could he possibly be thinking I wondered. The suspense was getting to be too much.

They silently and ravenously finished all of their food, and the older Kraft-loving boy quickly fled the dinner table and disappeared into the basement. Shortly after he left, the younger brother looked at me and said smiling, “Ya know what, I think I like your mac ‘n cheese better than Kraft.”

My heart about melted. I had an overwhelming yet completely over-reactive sense of triumph as I watched him skip away after his brother. Even the pickiest little third grader knows that real whole ingredients taste better than what you get out of a package.

That was one of my bigger events for the day, sadly – so here’s Day 22, Cheers!

DRINK 8 oz. of water when you wake up.

Breakfast:

  • 8 oz. water
  • green smoothie – mine had banana + blueberries + cherries + spinach + coconut  milk

DRINK 16 oz. of water before lunch.

Lunch:

  • tuna + half an avocado
  • apple

Snack:

  • cashews + almonds

DRINK 8 oz. water before dinner.

Dinner:

  • 8 oz. of water

So they were having a deal on a small crate of peaches at Trader Joes, so I decided to get one and realized I needed to start using them – so get ready for some peach-y meals over the next couple of days, starting with tonight’s dinner!

I didn’t have a grill so mine was a stove top chicken & peach salad…and I forgot the celery…but it was still amazingly good and tasted so fresh, and the chicken seasoning was probably one of the best I’ve ever had. The dressing was light but still so yummah. I definitely recommend giving this one a try, it’s a winner.

DRINK 8 oz. of water before bed

AND watch the Cavs bring home another win tonight #allinCLE

-Audrey

Leave a Reply

