Day 26

Ya know, I really don’t know how I’ve gone on blogging for this long and havenInstasizeImage‘t talked about coffee.

I love coffee. I don’t know if I’d be where I am today without good ‘ol joe.

Now, there’s certainly a bunch of hardos out there who take their coffee black, but being someone who doesn’t enjoy drinking something that tastes like it’s burning my stomach lining, I like to take the edge off. If you’re like myself or my comrades, you’re gonna add either milk, sugar, a crap load of sugar, or both milk and sugar.

Sure, I’ve been able to comfortably cut out a lot of things from my diet, like grains and wheat, cheese, and most processed foods, but coffee was the one thing that I absolutely refused to give up. It’s not that coffee isn’t paleo, it is, but I just really couldn’t commit to drinking it black. Adding flavors is half the fun to drinking coffee.

At school, one of my go-to drinks was a caramel iced coffee from Starbucks. It was plain iced coffee, with 2 or 3 pumps of flavored syrup, and a little bit of skim milk. I definitely wasn’t at all shocked to learn that my drink of choice was setting me back about 18 grams of sugar every day. And that was just for a tall. I know plenty of people who get venti sized coffees and dump more than a couple packets of sugar or Splenda into it. Well, that’s a lot of sugar to have in just one morning.

Since I’ve been paleo, I usually take my coffee with just a small pour of chocolate almond milk. Technically there’s no dairy, so it is paleo, the problem is, there is obviously some sugar in the flavored milk, so it’s not perfect. I’m trying to work up to plain, unsweetened almond milk, but that’s going to take another month.

If you really want to cut out sugar in your life, and you’re a big coffee drinker, here’s a couple of tips:

1. Try to make your coffee at home – add either unsweetened coconut or almond milk, and nothing else.

2. If you grab coffee on your way to work, just ask them to make your latté with almond milk – a lot of coffee shops carry it these days. Also, Starbucks can make your drinks with coconut milk…I think this is new.

3. If milk isn’t enough for you and you need a little more sweetness, try adding pure vanilla or honey to your coffee, they’re great natural sweeteners! Or, if you’re looking for a fancy coffee try this honey coffee, but sub almond or coconut milk.

4. You could also make your own creamer! Check out this recipe from Stupid Easy Paleo for Vanilla Hazelnut Creamer, or this paleo Pumpkin Spice Latté.

Keep drinking your coffee, it’s good for you. And go ahead and read about this special type of coffee called Bulletproof that paleo’s seem to rave about.

I’m honestly already thinking about the coffee I’m going to have tomorrow morning.

-Audrey

Leave a Reply

