Day 30

AYYEE IT’S DAY 30!!!

I have to say I’m super excited…but not for the reasons most people get excited when they complete an eating regimen or “diet.”

Usually you get excited after completing a diet because you’re like: Yes, the suffering is over, I have done my time in the torturous world of vegetables and tomorrow I can finally go back to eating pasta the way God intended it to be eaten. ‘Cause Squash and zucchini does not pasta make. 

However, what this 30 day excitement should sound like is, Yes, I managed to implement a lifestyle change for 30 days and now I know I can sustain this, I can’t wait to do another 30. 

My point is, this 30-day “diet,” really isn’t meant to be a diet. The word “diet” has earned the connotation of something temporary in our society. As Dr. Nicole Avena says in her book Why Diets Fail,

The problem is that saying that you are going on a diet suggests that at some point you will go off of it.”

Maybe you have finally achieved all of your health goals. You are thin, healthy and feeling really great – so great that you feel you can reward yourself by returning to eating all of your “normal” foods that were off-limits during your diet. Well, the problem is, the reason you are so thin and fit is because you don’t eat tons of “junk” food or eat whatever you want, whenever you want. Dr. Avena describes the paleo plan perfectly:

“If you want to lose weight and keep it off, a diet needs to be a way of eating, not a short-term solution.”

Because your health isn’t short term.

I want to clarify a couple of things:

1.) Being paleo, or just being genuinely healthy, shouldn’t ruin your life. You should go paleo because it’s something that makes you feel good, both physically and mentally. If paleo just doesn’t work for your lifestyle, it doesn’t work. The point isn’t to be miserable.

2.) Being healthy or paleo doesn’t mean that your taste buds will never again experience the sweet caress of cold creamy ice cream or rich chocolate cake – of course you can reward yourself, but to the degree that you can handle it. You know yourself – If you can’t have ice cream without eating the whole carton, well maybe don’t buy a carton. But if it’s your birthday and you want a triple scoop ice cream cone from your favorite ice cream shop, well dammit I think you should have it.

3.) Just because you eat bread, carbs, or cheese, doesn’t mean you aren’t a healthy person or you are doing it all wrong. I mainly caution that there is a significant overweight population in the U.S. today that needs to be addressed. You know if you are part of that population. But, if your lifestyle works for you and you are happy with your health, by all means, don’t think paleo is the only way. I’m simply offering you tips on how I think you can be the healthiest person biologically and physically.

If there’s one thing I wanted you to take away from my blog, is that eating healthy can be delicious, and shouldn’t have to feel like you are on a “diet.” With a little cooking and planning, life can be very satisfying. Hopefully, I’ve accomplished my goal of introducing you to the life of paleo if you’d never before imagined a carb-less world, or I’ve given you health gurus some reassurance to your lifestyle.

Finally, here’s Day 30 of the Paleo “Diet,” Cheers!

DRINK 8 oz. of water when you wake up!

Breakfast:

  • 8 oz. of water
  • 5-Ingredient Cinnamon Plantain Pancakes:
    • 1 plantain
    • 2 eggs
    • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
    • 2 tbsp almond milk (I used unsweetened coconut)
    • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

These were much sweeter than my normal 2-ingredient banana pancakes, so I didn’t even think these needed honey – and they tasted amazing plain!

DRINK 16 oz. of water before lunch.

Lunch:

  • Green smoothie (I had banana + strawberries + raspberries + blueberries + spinach)

DRINK 8 oz. of water before dinner.FullSizeRender (8)

Dinner: 

DRINK at least 8 oz. of water before bed.

And also a BIG thank you to everyone who read any of my blog posts, you really have no idea how much all of your kind words and encouragement meant to me 🙂

-Audrey

Leave a Reply

