Bison Burgers & Guacamole on Sweet Plantain Buns (Paleo, GF)

Hi Guys!

I haven’t posted much after the 30 Day Paleo Challenge, but I still want to keep you guys stocked with plenty of delicious paleo recipes to try out!

FullSizeRender (3)
at Cleveland’s West Side Market

Tonight, I whipped up Bison Burgers topped with Guacamole on Sweet Plantain Buns, perfect for a warm summer night in July.

I had to drive all the way to the West Side Market up in Cleveland to get these bison burgers, but let me tell you, it was worth the trip. Not only is bison meat really rich in flavor, it’s leaner than ordinary ground beef, low in cholesterol, and packed with protein and iron. You can cook these burgers on the grill or on the stove, seasoned with a little salt and pepper, just like normal burgers.

My burgers had one of my favorite spice rubs on it, but after putting the whole meal together I almost felt like it didn’t even need all of the added flavors. However if you do want to add a little kick to your burgers, here’s my spice rub:

Spice Rub

  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • 1/4 tsp chipotle powder

This would be enough for about one, maybe two burgers depending on size. Just mix it up and rub it on. (This rub also tastes REAL good on grilled chicken)

Next, I made the sweet plantain buns. I was actually surprised at how bun-like they turned out, and are very much sturdy enough to support your burger. Here’s the recipe I got from Stupid Easy Paleo:

Sweet Plantain Buns

  • 1 large plantain
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbs coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt

This makes about 4 small buns, I doubled it to make 6 pretty good sized buns.

I sliced the plantain and gave it a quick pulse chop in the food processor. Then, I added in the egg and the rest of the ingredients to the food processor and blended the mixture until it was smooth.FullSizeRender (2)FullSizeRender (4)

Then, I moved my mixture into a gallon Ziploc bag and cut one of the corners off to make a sort of pastry bag.FullSizeRender (5)

I heated up coconut oil in a pan, and then piped the plantain dough into bun “shapes” and cooked them for a minute or two on each side, until they were golden brown and cooked all the way through.

FullSizeRender (6)
I’m aware they’re awkwardly shaped.

Then I decided to make guacamole because everything tastes better with guac and honestly if you put guacamole on a piece of cardboard I would probably eat it. I got a sweet deal on some avocados at the farmers market today – they were perfectly ripe and made the most bomb guacamole I’ve ever had.

Simple Guacamole

  • 3 RIPE avocados
  • 3/4 cup diced Roma tomato
  • 3 heaping tablespoons of onion (I like white onion, but feel free to use red if you like it)
  • 3 tablespoons minced cilantro
  • salt and minced garlic to taste
  • lime juice (optional)

Also if you want to add a little heat you can add a couple serrano chiles.

AND here’s the finished product.

IMG_0540 (1)

I ended up eating my burger open-face style with only one bun on bottom because this meal is plenty filling, but won’t leave you feeling all gross and greasy like a normal burger would.

IMG_0542

Hope you guys enjoy!!

-Audrey

Leave a Reply

