Raw Brownie Bites (Paleo, GF, Vegan)

Hey Guys!

I’ve got the best way to curb your chocolate craving in less than ten minutes, because I know when you need to get yo chocolate on you gotta do it quick. All you need is a food processor!

Besides being quick and super easy to make, these raw brownie bites are made with walnuts and dates, so they are packed with nutrients that will ease your chocolate craving as well as give you a nice little energy boost and fill you up.

Raw Brownie Bites

makes about 12 balls

  • 1 & 1/2 cups raw walnut halves
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup soft, pitted dates (about 10 – 15 dates depending on size)
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 2 big tablespoons of honey (optional for vegans)

The original recipe from Detoxinista calls for 1/4 teaspoon of salt instead of honey, but I found they weren’t quite sweet enough without it, and since I’m not vegan I subbed my salt for some honey. You can adjust how much honey you add depending on how sweet your dates are, but I found two heaping tablespoons did the trick.

How to Make:

IMG_05811.) Grind your walnuts in a food processor until they become a fine meal.

2.) Add the rest of the ingredients until it is a well combined dough.

3.) Scoop out the dough and form into balls, and then place them on a lined baking sheet.

4.) Store the balls in the fridge or freezer to firm ’em up. (I prefer the freezer)

If this takes you more than 10 minutes it’s probably because you spent 5 of them trying to bust the child locks on your fancy Wolfgang Puck food processor and you were struggling like a hungry momma bear trying to crack open a honey jar without thumbs. Don’t worry, you’ll get your chocolate.

IMG_0582

IMG_0584

 

Okay I know you’re skeptical and I know these look like little dog shits, but they are nice and chocolatey and delightful little balls (the honey is key though) – and I’ve been pretty up front with y’all when paleo sweets are just honest to goodness terrible, but I say trust me on this one and give these a try, they’re worth it.

Enjoy!

Audrey

Leave a Reply

